Running Wild

Running wild slowly but surely!  About a year ago I added c25k (couch to 5k) podcasts to my ipod.  I believe I did week 1 once or twice and was just not into it!  I have always wanted to become a runner.  Even in high school when I played field hockey I was a bad runner and by bad I don’t mean length of time or how fast, but more like omg I hate this and don’t want to do it so I never improved much runner.  Finally on Sunday I got my boyfriend to start the c25k program with me.  We did week 1 day 1.  It is  a 5 min walking warm up, 60 seconds of running followed by 90 seconds of walking (alternating for 20 minutes), and a 5 min cool down.  We did it pretty easily, but it was awesome to have him there with me.  This morning he was exhausted so I didn’t bother to wake him up, but after he left for work I said hey i need to stick to this!  So I decided to go for it.  I know I’m not supposed to do this, but I skipped to week 2 to see waht it was all about.  I am glad I did.  It is 5 min warm up, 90 seconds of running, 2 min of walking (for 20 min) and 5 min cool down.  Today I really felt it, but it felt good.  I am so happy right now that I got my butt up and did it.  My next run is supposed to be thurs or fri.  Thursday is a super busy day, but if I can get up early enough (i’m talking like 6 am) than I’ll do week 2 day 2.  I won’t skip anymore weeeks… and I know this will get harder, but I can do it!  I am hoping my boyfriend with join me on thursday morning!  He needs to practice running also!

 

Goals:

When I finish the c25k program, I want to run a 5k race.

Want to keep improving my running each week.

 

Food:

I had a cup of coffee before I ran, but that was it.  Right now I’m sipping some water and didn’t have breakfast yet.  I might have peanut butter with a banana on a pita.  We shall see.

 

Lunch is a chobani vanilla greek yogurt with cascadian farms vanilla almond crunch cereal and a honeycrisp apple.

I also packed a lemon zest luna bar, a fruit belt thing (its strawberry and from trader joes), and a clementine in case I get hungry before or during class tonight.

One response to “Running Wild

  1. peanutbutterfingers

    i LOVE lemon bars… they always taste so indulgent!

Leave a Reply

