Coco-Crazy!!

I have fallen in love with coconut butter.   It is amazing!  I’ve always enjoye anything that was made with coconut, but for some reason hardly ever bought anything that was actually coconut.  One of my favorite dishes is coconut chicken, but I’ve only had it about two times in my entire life (in 8th grade at a Bat Mitzvah and my sophmore year of college at a restaurant about an hour away.

Anyways, back to the coconut butter…  I see it used on other blogs (especially Katheats)  and it always looks so delicious.  I found the Artisana kind at Whole Foods, but could not justify spending 9 bucks on a little jar.  A few weeks went by and I could not stop thinking about trying this product.  I decided to just splurge and went back to Whole Foods.  Of course, they only had the BIG jars and they were on sale for about 12 bucks.  I caved!  Well let me tell you.. this stuff is amazing!! I have been putting it on anything I can think of.

My favorite thing to do with it is, melt 1 teaspoon in the bottom of a bowl, add a tiny bit of nutella and melt that too.  Than I mix it with Puffins or Kashi Honey Sunshine, Chia seeds, and sometimes a little granola.  I pour the milk and mix it all up!  OMG it is so good.  The coconut hardens when it’s cold, so it attaches itself to the cereal.

I began to read up on some of the health benefits (I was a little nervous because it has 18 g of fat per 2 tablespoons).   Apparently it is a very good kind of fat, but obviously in moderation.

For breakfast today I had:

chobani vanilla greek yogurt

1 teaspoon of chia seeds

1/4 cup of Puffins cereal

1 teaspoon of melted coconut butter

1/2 banana

All mixed together!! It is delicious! I feel like it’s a treat and I feel so good that I am feeding my body nutrients!

For lunch, I packed 2 slices of whole wheat bread  with teddie peanut butter and coconut butter (I’ve never tried it on bread before, so I brought 2 small slices of amy’s frozen pizza just in case that sandwich is a fail).   I also packed pineapple, a coconut water (first time i’m trying it!), and a cheese stick for a snack.

Running

I have always admired runners.  I wish I was able to just throw on a pair of sneakers and run!  To be honest, I make up a lot of excuses and just never go.  I was reading Peanutbutterfingers.wordpress.com’s blog and Julie was talking about tips for running.  I really connect with many of the things she says.  For example, I feel I don’t have the running gene.  But in reality, I just need to stop being lazy and go run!  I think I might just sign up for a 5k and really make myself do it!  I need something to work towards!  In 2 weeks I will be graduating graduate school and will have a lot of free time. This would be the best time to start!

Thoughts on Blogging

Well this is the thing, I read other blogs daily.  I often have something to say, but feel like ehh why blog about it?  I don’t want to feel that way! I want to share my thoughts and food finds!  I give myself credit for trying to change the way I eat and trying new foods.  There are many things I try that I just don’t like, but hey at least I tried them. (I tried a coconut date roll last night, not sure how I feel about it.  It was spicy in a weird way and sorta reminded me a a piece of poop).

Question:

How did you begin blogging?

One response to “Coco-Crazy!!

  1. lol coconut date roll comment..
    Sounds good to me, the blog world is great for finding new food, I love it 🙂
    Dana
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

